Thursday, January 23, 2014

on the bookshelf

I have several goals for this year - some that I've already talked about {be healthy, take better care of my skin} and some that I have yet to talk about.

One of my goals is pretty simple: to read more often. I came up short of my goal to read 35 books last year, but I'm determined to reach it and then exceed it this year! I usually turn to friends for book recommendations so I asked my friend Selby {you may have seen her featured on Levo League's Beyond the Pencil Skirt!} to give a few suggestions of what to keep on a book list for 2014.

----------------------

2014 is here and with that comes resolutions and goals for your year ahead. For those of you with goals of a literary nature who are unsure of where to start: FEAR NOT. Below is a reading list of the titles to grab now as well as the books to look forward to in the coming months.

2014 Books to Read || Sprinkles and Style
FICTION:
Perfect by Rachel Joyce - The bestselling author who brought us the charming debut, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry returns to the page in a brilliant and daring second novel about young Byron Hemmings who is thrown into difficult realities of the adult world through two seconds that seemingly changed his life forever. {On sale now!}

Remember Me Like This by Bret Anthony Johnston- This book is not on sale until May, but definitely a title to keep on your to-read list for 2014! The novel explores the nature of love and forgiveness when a kidnapped son is returned home. {For fans of Alice Sebold, John Irving, Tom Perrotta, and Jill McCorkle.}

The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh- I cannot say enough about this book. Add it. Add it. Add it. Debut novelist Laura McHugh delivers a bone chilling and page turning novel that will leave your heart beating. You won't regret picking this up. Seriously. {On sale March 11.}

The Boleyn King by Laura Andersen- If you are looking for a series AND you are a fan of historical fiction AND a sucker for Anne Boleyn and all Tudor-related drama then this is a great one to start in 2014. Andersen dares to explore what history would have been like if Anne Boleyn had a son with Henry VIII. {Start with The Boleyn King.}

Flavia de Luce Series by Alan Bradley- I can't get enough Flavia. This charming and best selling series, set in England in the 1950s, follows 13-year old Flavia, a budding chemist with a knack for solving crimes. Start with The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and read on!

NONFICTION:
The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg- New York Times best selling author AND award winning business reporter Charles Duhigg studies the science of how habits work, why they exist, and how they can be changed.

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand- From the author of Seabiscuit comes a rich narrative about Louis Zamperini and his amazing life. From a mischievous childhood to an almost four minute mile at the Berlin Olympics to his experience as a prisoner of war during WWII, this is an unforgettable true testament of one man's resilience of the human mind, body, and spirit.

With or Without You by Domenica Ruta- This is without a doubt one of the most moving and haunting memoirs I've read in the past year. Domenica tells the story of growing up outside Boston with her drug addict and drug dealing mother, Kathi. In addition to overcoming demons of her childhood, Domenica must fight off her own addictions in the process. {For fans of The Glass Castle.}

MORE GREAT READS FOR 2014:
Wake by Anna Hope
The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann
The Frangipani Hotel by Violet Kupersmith {short stories}
Tenth of December by George Saunders {short stories}
Not that Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham
Under the Wide and Starry Sky by Nancy Horan
The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley

----------------------

With this list from Selby, you're pretty much set for most of the year! If you have other recommendations, we'd love to hear them!

1 comment:

  1. So envious of your 35 book goal (puts my goal of 25 to shame!). What wonderful suggestions, definitely adding them to my "to-read" list!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and writing a little something! I love reading your comments! :] xo.